top of page
  • Writer's pictureSven McClean

The Street Where My Mother Lived

Since my first post I have learned some more facts thanks to the Rekindle Ancestry Research Group

I've learned that the care home I lived in was actually called "Broomlands" not Bloomans as I thought. I've also been told that one wall of the St Barnabas Workshouse still stands and I hope to visit this in the near future.

A member of the ancestry group also informed me that the Swedish Seaman's mission was on Park Road South, I also learned from this newspaper article that the Swedish Church still exists and a semblance of the seaman's mission is there. So, perhaps another visit.

And now I've learned that there is a model of St Hilda's (old Middlesbrough) in Fountains Court, a Middlesbrough Council building. You can clearly see the house where I was born. I've been give a picture of this (see below). I'm hoping a visit can be arranged for me to see this for myself.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
SPA-MDFA.jpg
bottom of page